Don’t Delete Your Facebook Profile

Posted on in Blog

Let’s all take a deep cleansing breath. Inhale….Exhale. In through your nose, out through your mouth. Inhale….Exhale.

OK, now that we’ve all calmed down a little bit, let’s discuss your Facebook profile.

Facebook’s recent privacy changes have made many users extremely upset. As I’ve previously written, I think a number of these concerns are completely valid and legitimate.

I agree that Facebook hasn’t exactly had the cleanest record with keeping user privacy as its top priority. But should it be? I’m asking you. I think Facebook should absolutely keep its users safe, but isn’t the best thing about the internet sharing information and ideas?

What should have happened is that Facebook should have offered us a choice in the matter of our privacy – Facebook gave no such offer.

End of story.

Now Facebook has to face (no pun intended) the consequences.

Facebook tends to have an “Our Way or the Highway” type philosophy – and many folks are not too keen on it. Obviously. The social network has no interest in losing users because of these recent changes. Facebook wants its users to stay with them.

In my opinion, don’t delete your Facebook account. But do keep yourself educated about where and how much personal information you post on the internet.

Do you agree with this post? Do you disagree? Please share your thoughts in our comments section.

Up Next

When you’ve worked in marketing for a couple of decades, you’ve surfed hundreds of waves of change in digital marketing. Through it all, these have been the top digital marketing FAQs we hear at Oneupweb. Cruise our answers to these marketing questions, and feel free to ask us something directly. Who should I be marketing...

Read More