Oneupweb : Facebook Page Admins Can Now Unmerge Places and Pages

Facebook gave page admins around the global an early Christmas present, helping them reverse the “mistake” of merging their Facebook Place with their Page. That’s right—you can now unmerge.

You probably noticed that I called the merge a mistake. I’ll admit that when Facebook first announced that you could merge your Facebook Place with your Page, I was pretty excited. Facebook first announced Places as their new check-in option available to iPhone users. It’s setup much like Foursquare, where you use a mobile device to check-in to a place you are physically. Business owners could claim their Place, which later opened up the option to offer deals to people who check-in to your business. Yet, it was another property on Facebook that you were responsible for. Wouldn’t it just be easier if your Place page and your Business page were one?

So we thought.

Merging your Place with your Page presented some major obstacles. The one that stood out to me was the inability to set a landing tab. As I’ve previously noted, businesses use these tabs as a way to further communicate with their visitors outside of the wall. Several companies use Welcome tabs to encourage visitors to become fans of their page, some use “Shop Now” tabs that virtually puts their online store on Facebook, and a lot more.

In other words, take the ability to set a landing tab away from most businesses, and they’re not going to be happy. Especially if they don’t realize that’s going to happen. Which is exactly what happened when people merged their Facebook Place and Page.

The real kicker was, there was no way to unmerge them. Once you’d merged these two pages, you were stuck—until now.

InsideFacebook.com is one blog among many that are reporting a new feature to “Unmege”:

On behalf of myself, Oneupweb, and quite possible social admins everywhere, I’d like to say thank you to Facebook. This was one great Christmas surprise!